My 3rd Hand Mirror; Mounted

I have long hair and have been seeing some really neat updos and hairstyles online that I would love to try. The problem lies in the fact that you usually need 2 hands to work with the hair and a 3rd hand to hold the mirror so you can see what you are doing on the back side of your head!

2012-02-21 February 21

My solution was to use my towel ladder to balance a standing mirror with a swiveling head on one of the upper rungs.

Wouldn’t you know – this is the only picture I have of the old mirror – you know the type I am talking about though. It was large enough to sit on one rung and lean against the one above it plus the side of the ladder.

034

This worked fine for awhile, but with 2 rambunctious boys in the house, it was doomed for failure – yes, I forgot to set back on the ladder one time and “someone” (who goes by the name of “Not me” at my house) bumped the ladder and it fell to the floor. Fortunately it didn’t shatter, just cracked and broke one of the sides away from the frame that allowed it to swivel.

I used it for awhile that way but it was really difficult to position. I even tried using a twistie tie to hold it in place, but it was a royal pain to work with.

I looked into getting the scissor fold mirrors that you can attach to the wall but the ones I could find around here cost $30 and I wasn’t sure it was really worth it. I picked up a $5 hand mirror and tried to do the braids blind but that wasn’t working very well either!

So, when my sisters and I went to IKEA last weekend (a 5 hour drive for us), I saw a scissor mirror for $4.99 and I grabbed it.

Instead of installing it on the wall I attached it to the side of my towel ladder. I should really attach the ladder to the wall to insure it’s safety, but the ladder has never been bumped over in the last year, so I think we’ll be alright!

2012-02-21 February 211

Of course, I had to do a trial run to see how it would work, so I did a more complicated updo and the mirror worked great! I could see where to put the hair and bobby pins no matter what side of the head I was working with.

2012-02-21 February 212

I’m excited to do a few more braids and more complex updos that require 2 hands and a 3rd-hand-mirror. (I never realized how difficult it is to take a picture of the back of your head in the mirror – you should try it sometime!)

On a side note – I thought it was so funny how the instructions for hanging the mirror were all pictures – one of which included a burning curtain which was caused by the sun shining on the mirror pointing at the curtain! I guess I never thought about that happening!TQ Jo signature

Linking to the following…

Beyond The Picket Fence A Little Knick Knack Chic on a Shoestring Decorating   Funky Junk's Sat Nite Special


One thought on “My 3rd Hand Mirror; Mounted

Leave a Reply

