Cozy Coupe Cake

When I get a request for a cake that is based on an actual object, I usually try to go directly off of an image. In this case, I found a picture of a cozy coupe from the front and traced the outline and major details also. I just hold the blank paper on top of the printed picture and use a pencil to draw the lines. I then scanned this in and inserted the picture into a drawing program where I could expand the picture to the size I needed to use the most amount of the 9×13 cake I made. In this case I trimmed the sides of the top and added them to the top to make the correct height of the cozy coupe. I also did some skimming to give it more dimension – adding the skimmed off parts to the eyes and face of the coupe. After I had it to the point I was satisfied, I then crumb coated to seal in the moisture while I worked with the different colors.

january birthdays 011

I piped on the main color – in this instance – red, and smoothed and made impressions for the bumper and mouth.

When I am working with buttercream I like to use waxed paper as a mask to keep the colors separate. So before I piped on the black, I cut out waxed paper and covered the well- crusted red so the black would not overlap where it shouldn’t.

january birthdays 012

After allowing the black to crust and smoothing them, I went on to the white. The background of the cab portion and the eyes were white. I did not use a waxed paper mask for these, but very carefully piped and smooth the colors trying to keep a relatively straight clean line between colors.

january birthdays 016

Then it was time to add the yellow cab portion. Again, I piped the yellow on with a large round tip which helped to keep a nice line between colors.

january birthdays 018

Waiting between each color takes a lot of time, so it probably took me an hour and half on and off working on just the base icing of this cake! If you are comfortable with fondant (and the people you serve like it!), that would be a much faster avenue of covering a cake like this.

Now – here comes the fun part – the details. This is where a cake comes to life!

cozy coupe

cozy coupe side black

Here is the little smash cake that went with it…

Steering Smash black

TQ Jo signature

Linking to the following…
Photobucket

One thought on “Cozy Coupe Cake

Leave a Reply

