Teacher Gifts for Christmas

I waited until the last minute this year to make teacher gifts because I was wrapped up in the whole play production – which I will be posting more details on later!

These were very easy to make but they did require a visit to a local metal shop to have the metal cut. Each piece only cost a couple dollars though so very economical gift.

I’ll show the photos and then give a few details!

Magnetic pink

Magnetic blue

I wanted the area for posting pictures, etc. to end up at 5×7 so I added an extra 1/2” to account for the slot sawed in the 2×4.

I tipped the table saw blade to 10 degrees and turned the blade down so that it only cut 1/2” deep into the 2×4. I am not sure how close it was to the front, but there is quite a bit more board left in the back to help hold the weight of the steel up.

I ended up using 16 gauge metal which is a thicker, more heavy-weight sheet. I think I could’ve gotten away with lighter yet though tin was too thin (ask me how I know!) It was not a stainless so it didn’t have a nice silver finish so I had to cover it.

After spray painting the edge a matching beige, I used ModPodge to adhere the scrapbook paper to the metal. I also covered the backs with matching paper since that is the side that will most likely face the classroom from their desks! After attaching the magnets too early and having it rip some of the paper, I found it was not difficult to scrape off the paper with a razer blade. Hopefully it wears well, but if not, they can always change it out to something else!

I didn’t use any fancy boards – just some 2×4 off of pallets that I tore down. They are 8” wide. I painted the boards, added the lettering by pencil tranfer and a brown fine point sharpie, sanded and stained the edges and sealed with ModPodge. If I were to do it again, I would use a less shiny finish for the wood, but I didn’t have a matte finish at the time – and this was last minute!

I also made another one at the same time, but I had to give that one away the day before these so I didn’t have a chance to take a picture of it! I am the room mother for the 3rd and 4th graders so it was rather hectic getting ready for the classroom party the next day!

This was a really easy and quick project. I don’t know what I would do with the inspiration of the internet and all the creative people out there!

TQ Jo signature

Linking to the following:

Photobucket


Leave a Reply

