Microwave Shelf Update

When we first moved in this house, the previous owners had left behind this monstrosity of a combination oven/stove/microwave. It was one piece and had to be about 30 years old! We got rid of that because we had bought my husband’s grandma’s oven/stove when we got married and we also had our own microwave. Because the monstrosity left a large area above the stove, we decided to hang a shelf to put the microwave on.

August 17 014

We ended up using threaded rod, washers and nuts to make the shelf, which is just a rectangle of wood that fits the area. We drilled 4 holes in the cabinets above the microwave and 4 corresponding holes through the shelf. We cut the threaded rod to the length that we needed, used washers and nuts to tighten the rod to the upper cabinets and underneath the shelf. We covered the threaded rod with some metal tubing and I painted it the same color as the wall.

This set up has served me very well over the years – we added a light to the bottom of the shelf a few years after we moved here which I use all the time when I am cooking or even using the mixer, which is right next to the stove.

Well, it doesn’t look pretty and I always told myself that I would add a front edge to hide the light, but it has just not happened!

Until now….

August 26 034

I added a face board underneath and also added some brackets that I scored at GW awhile back. I painted the under boards, brackets and the metal rods black. I then distressed the edges. Right now, I left the top of the board as stained and poly’ed. It sort of matches the microwave with it’s wood-look sides and black front. That is what I’m telling myself, but I think it has more to do with it being a 2 person job to move the microwave and hubby has been busy!

Microwave Shelf

If you look closely – you can probably find a few more changes. My messy paper plate basket is now painted black so it fades into the background. I also added some black “tiles” to my backsplash to help tie everything in together. It also helps to hide the back microwave cord that hangs down to the outlet.

This shelf has no holes in the wall, I even just added the brackets to the bottom of the shelf so until I get a new built-in microwave someday, I’m content with this!

I’ll show you the shelf I added to the soffit above this next.

TQ Jo signature

Linking to the following…

Tip Junkie handmade projects Transformation Thursday Beyond The Picket Fence

9 thoughts on “Microwave Shelf Update

  1. That looks great! I keep saying we should do this to free up more counter space (which is extremely limited in our kitchen). Now I’ll have to try it after seeing this!

  2. I think this is exactly what I need. How tall is that microwave? What’s the distance between the stove top & the bottom of the shelf?

  3. If the shelf is not mounted directly to the wall, than how?? I have a large open space above my stove below a 12″ wall cabinet and would be great to put the microwave there and free up counter space. However, I have NO clue how to do this. It’s a counter top microwave so I cannot do an under cabinet mounting. I do not like the look of the stainless steel microwave shelves I keep finding online nor the brackets because I feel like they will stand out too much. I’d prefer a solid shelf to match the cabinetry and I do not know what would be the best or strongest way to mount a shelf to the wall to achieve this goal.

  4. This shelf is the answer for my rental. Where did you find the screw rods and exactly how long are they? The longest I found in Home Depot were 10″ and that is not long enough.

Leave a Reply

