DIY Stencil for Painting Accents

This little cabinet is actually an old vinyl record cabinet that I picked up at GW for a couple dollars. It was the old brown veneer and I brightened it up with a little white paint – much better!

May 9, 2011 002

I have gotten a little bit crazy with my kitchen color accents lately and decided to add some turquoise to this little girl too!

The doors are sliding and easily come off so I thought I would just add a stencil to the doors. I didn’t have a stencil though so I had to make one myself.

june 20 004

I found a simple sign that I liked so I traced it out on cardstock and then covered the whole back with duct tape to help strengthen it. Then I used an exacto knife to cut it out.

I wanted the turquoise to be an accent and I didn’t want to repaint the white, so I just laid the doors out and traced the stencil on. Then I took a brush and painted on the turquoise  inside the lines.

And – here she is now!

june 20 012

And with some matching painted goodies from the kitchen/dining area.

june 20 007

And the side-by-side comparison…

Record Cupboard

the Creative Collage

Linking to the following…

Tip Junkie handmade projectsDomestically SpeakingOrganize and Decorate Everything Furniture Feature Fridays


10 thoughts on “DIY Stencil for Painting Accents

  1. Love this idea! As I write, I am talking my husband into doing this on a white cabinet we have!! Thanks for sharing.

    Violetpaperwings.blogspot.com

  2. Thank you so so much for sharing this. I am inspired to stencil something now on my own. You rock! I found you through the House of Hepworths linky party and just had to stop by. I am your newest follower and cant wait to check more of your blog out. Come and visit me and say hi and please follow back 🙂

    A mommy’s life…with a touch of YELLOW
    tyandwhitneyulrich.blogspot.com

  3. That is just so sophisticated and cool! The turquoise just added the perfect finishing touch and I love that you made your own stencil. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at Inspiration Friday!
    Vanessa

Leave a Reply

