Catchy Color Clips in the Kitchen

I have been having a lot of fun with my new beachy green accent color. It has spread to the kitchen now!

I have one small can light above my sink in my kitchen and have seen those conversion kits that allow you to put in a pendant. So I bought one and put it up. It was a bare bulb for a couple weeks until I found this basket at GW.We used the Dremel to cut out a hole to hold the basket on the light.

Pendant raw

I really like the rustic look of it, but I have so many browns that I felt like it needed to have some color to is, so I used my latest favoritest color! It is a light greenish blue. It makes me think beachy green.

I used this same color on my “Our Family” sign and photo mats.

013

On the basket I spray painted the inside white to help reflect the light and dry brushed the beachy green over the reddish brown.

Pendant painted

I like the pop of color that it added and the rustic charm of the basket.

I also added some color to my painted tile back splash. The browns and tans and whites were used to bring together the colors in my kitchen.

Before…

May 2, 2011 043

I was ready for a little bold color so I added a few beachy green “tiles”.

The after…

May 2, 2011 044

I may be adding some black “tiles” in the backsplash or maybe replace the dark brown with the black after I get the island and bench painted. We will see!!!

I even added an EAT sign on the soffit in the accent color…

Eat collage

I cut the letters out of cardboard that I stacked and glued. I used a band saw to make the actual cuts. The newspaper covers the ribbed edges of the cardboard and was mod-podged on.

Now if I wasn’t so afraid – I would paint my small kitchen island the beachy green color!

I am afraid that I will grow tired of it because it is a rather trendy color, so I think that I will stick with the original plan of painting the island black. I like to paint but the smaller things are much easier to change!

So, a few spring-like updates for the kitchen make me happy and give me something new to look at and enjoy daily! Plus I’m hosting Mother’s Day at our house, so I like to make a few updates!

Does anyone else do that? Add a bunch of stress by trying to make changes before a big event at your home? It drives my husband crazy – he just can’t understand!!! I agree that it makes for more stress, but it also forces me to get some things that I wanted to do done, and right away!

the Creative Collage

I’m linking to the following…

Tip Junkie handmade projectsDomestically Speaking Transformation Thursday Chic on a Shoestring Decorating Funky Junk's Sat Nite Special The DIY Show Off

updated to add the following…

11 thoughts on “Catchy Color Clips in the Kitchen

  1. Great ideas! I love the basket light. I may have to try that on a pole lamp I have. I have been adding this color to my kitchen and dining area. It is addictive.

  2. Wow, small changes, but a lot of pop! I love your sign, it’s perfect!
    The basket looks so much better with it’s new color.
    gail
    ps thanks for linking up to catch as catch can

  3. Love the accents you have added to your kitchen! Love the colors!

    Thanks for dropping by learning-to-b-me.blogspot.com and leaving a comment!

Leave a Reply

