Craft Room Organization Part 3

Well, I have made a little more progress on the sewing/craft room. This is a medium-sized laminate cupboard. This summer I hope to paint it white.

Here is the disorganized/messy BEFORE!023

I thought I would break it down, shelf-by-shelf before I show the final “after”! I know you are dying to see it, but, patience, my dears!!!! Anyway, this took me some time – so I can’t make it as easy as here’s the before and here’s the after, can I ?!?!?!?!?

Here is the messy bag storage BEFORE! This is the 3rd shelf down. 023

In the first “before” pictures you can see the bottom of the tan/white print shelf-deal sitting on top of the cupboard. Here is a close-up (sorry really grainy) picture of the whole deal.

017

It is made completely out of cardboard. I have had it for years, and I’m not sure why I spent good money on it, but let’s chalk that up to immaturity! I shouldn’t really complain, it has lasted the last 10 years also! I ended up using the drawers for storage in the cupboard on the opposite side of the room.  See my Craft Room Organization part 1.  Well, I used the shelf part of the cardboard storage deal to organize my gift bags and tissue paper.

Sunday April 10 027

I laid the cardboard “shelving” on it side and I sorted the bags by size. I also added an insert so I could stack 2 rows of tissue paper, sorted by color (as seen in the left hand cubby). I even had a couple HUGE bags that I stored on top of it.

I feel I must explain why I have so many gift bags and so much tissue paper! My mother-in-law works for a card company so when they switch out things seasonally, she gets to take a bunch of stuff home! I don’t think I will ever have to buy wrapping paper, cards, gift bags or tissue paper again – not a bad thing!

Now that it is more organized, I’ll even be able to find the right size when I need one without them falling all over the place!

On to the next shelf…

This is the BEFORE of the top shelf – wow – terrible picture, big mess!!!023

Let’s see – what do we have here??? Looks like paper ribbons (another gift from my mother-in-law) some shelf liner, a Menards bag with what looks like free school supplies. We usually participate in the Samaritan’s purse shoe boxes, so I pick up any school supplies when they are cheapest or free with a  rebate! I’m really not sure what is in the red/black bag. I used to use that for yarn storage – waaaayyyyy before I accumulated what I have now! To see how I am storing yarn see my Craft Room Organization Part II. I even see a large rubber mallet (used for cake decorating!!!!) I think I had an old light fixture and it looks like some plastic cups assembled for a cupcake bouquet! Definitely a mixed bag of what-not!

Anyway – here is what I have stored in there now…

Sunday April 10 025

and…

Sunday April 10 030

The drawers are where I am accumulating certain sized strips. Whenever I have just a small amount of material left, I cut it down to whatever size fits and throw it in the drawers. Someday, I should be able to make a nice scrappy quilt! Or I can just craft with it!!!

I am storing the ribbon in a refrigerator cheese container deal. It is easy to pull out and throw back in the cupboard! I found that this works better than having a static curtain rod (like before) where you have to know how much you need and cut it off before getting to your project or you have to slide half of them off to get to the one you want and – for me, that just made it way too easy to leave it sit out until I was finished with the ribbon. And of course, you know, I never get interrupted while working on things!!!! I am using an old vase to toss my duct and double-sided carpet tape on.

On to the 2nd shelf… (please don’t ask me why I started on the 3rd shelf?!?!?! I’m not changing it now though!) BEFORE…

023

The bag on the left had lots of shelf liner. Gift bags work good for storing things besides gifts!!! Shelf liner is right up there with duct tape in it’s usefulness, so I keep lots of it on hand! It works great when you are transporting cakes! You can see my attempt at corralling the contact paper and cake foil. I had 2 shelf brackets stuck to the cupboard with that sticky yellow wall stuff (sorry, don’t know the official name for it) This worked okay – kept the rolls from rolling off the shelf, but it was difficult to find which color you wanted. So I came up with a different solution…

Sunday April 10 026

It isn’t real pretty, but it was free and it works! I made a cardboard “riser” with a front edge to hold the contact paper on top, and the shelf liner below. I added one of the chalkboard labels that I made for other organization projects including my cupcake liner box. You don’t see any cake foil, because that found a home in a dresser that is in my craft room. I’ll show you that in an upcoming post!

The other side of the shelf has an old paper box – I could cover it to make it look neater but, right now I’m going for organization not prettiness. It is also behind closed doors, so it isn’t seen normally! This box contains all the extra school supplies and small gifts that I pick up throughout the year. This makes it easy to participate in the Samaritan’s purse shoe box program and also makes birthday party gifts quick and easy!

The  final and bottom shelf…023

Well, let’s take a look at what we have here!!! Diapers (haven’t needed them for 4 years), nursing pads (not used in the last 5 years!), I’m not even sure what is in the plastic bags. I’m pretty sure most of this was donated or given to my sisters who have babies!!!

This is what it looks like now…Sunday April 10 029

The small box on the left contains different wires (used for caking and also crafting!) I have all my knit material stored in the clear zippered plastic case that came from a blanket we bought. I do leave it unzipped partially, just to let the material breathe. And, my paper cutter is no longer setting on top of the cupboard, but has found a new home, hidden inside the cupboard! And do you see that prime piece of real estate in the right hand corner. Empty space! Wow – I’m sure I’ll be able to find something a home there, but for now, I’ll give the cupboard a break and leave it empty!

So – this is what you have been tirelessly waiting for – the final result!!!!!!

( I had to show the BEFORE, just once more so you can truly see the difference!)

023

and – the AFTER!

Sunday April 10 031

Okay – so, that was being a little overly dramatic!!! It is definitely an improvement and I look forward to finding things now – because my chances of getting what I came to get out of here is much better!

I would love to paint this cupboard white inside and out and add crown molding and some trim. I’ll have to add this to my list of things to do!

(Can you tell, I have been working on my camera skills – the after pictures are much better than the before?!?!?!?)

the Creative Collage

I’m linking to the following…


MakingOrganize and Decorate Everything

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Craft Room Organization Part 3

  1. I also love the gift bag organization! You have some great ideas! I love creating in an organized space. I don’t about you but I can never find anything if my craft room is a mess. I HAVE to be organized to function!

    Check out my craft room at

    http://miscellaneousme.wordpress.com

    Have a wonderful day and keep organizing!

    Cara

    • Izabella / Chce zaczac ta diete ale boje sie,ze nie bedzie mnie na nia stac poniewaz wiekszosci skladnikow nie uzywam na cosOden.ziwieccie mnie i napiszcie czy drogie sa skladniki do tej diety i te ziola z przyprawami ile kosztuja bo moj maz juz mi zapowiedzial,ze nie bedzie odmawial sobie slodyczy lub wypadow do restauracji zebym ja wydawala na zakupy do mojej diety.

Leave a Reply

