Entry Way Organization

002

This is my front door . This is the door that our company comes through and the boys come and go through for school. I had nothing here for the first few years we lived here. The kids were not in school yet then either!

entry and chalk blocks - march 004

The problem that prompted adding the shelf was the fact that my oldest would come in the door from school and dump his bag and coat right inside the door. Or, worse yet, somewhere else in the house where, later, he couldn’t remember where he left it!

So, I found an old shelf that I had gotten from my mom years ago. Originally, about 9 years ago, when we lived in a different house, it was painted a dark hunter green. I’m not sure what I was thinking there, but I guess it matched the nursery at the time!

I painted it the same color as my living room walls which is about 3 shades darker than the wall it is hung on. I also painted the frame of an old window that I had swapped the panes of glass with mirrors.

003

I added some baskets and put together a couple boards to hold the books from the library.

004

I also added some hooks underneath to hold their bags and coats.

005

When we first moved here this half wall was a full wall, leaving the people coming in the front door in a dark hallway. I really like the opening and it allows the mirrors to reflect light from the windows.

001

This is what it looks like without all the coats and bags – but that isn’t my reality at this time!

entry and chalk blocks - march 007

I also made the chalkboard listing the things to remember on the way out the door to school! Looking at the picture, I may have to paint that a more neutral color also.

entry and chalk blocks - march 008

I’m not sure if the hooks are really sturdy enough to hold all these books! The blue bag is full of piano books, the dark denim bag is my oldest’s  Cadet (boys group) bag. My youngest doesn’t have school, so his bag and coats are there today. When the oldest comes home, his backpack and coat will be added! Nothing has ripped out yet!

entry and chalk blocks - march 006

So, it has narrowed our hallway somewhat but it has really helped in the organization and we haven’t lost our bags in awhile!

the Creative Collage

Linking  to the following…

Furniture Feature FridaysFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special The Girl Creative

 

 

9 thoughts on “Entry Way Organization

  1. What an absolutely lovely spot to be welcomed home every day! You did a fabulous job marrying function with beauty and I just love it. Thank you so much for linking this up to Inspiration Friday this week and we hope to continue to see more of you in the future!
    Vanessa

  2. I love this! I am trying to figure how to create something like this in my home. I wish I had your hallway. You did an awesome job on it. I love the little book holder you made too!
    Thank you so much for sharing this on my Organizing Mission Monday link party!

Leave a Reply

