Monkey Baby Shower

I just got home from a baby shower for my little nephew. He is a cutie pie and well-behaved to boot! His grandma put on the shower and went with the jungle/safari theme. We had banana punch, banana splits and banana cupcakes with chocolate cream cheese buttercream. I made the cupcakes and the little display cake – a monkey with bananas of course!

Isn’t he adorable?!!?!?!

019(I’m talking about my nephew, but the monkey turned out pretty cute too!)

 

The cake is  a 6″ round with a half ball pan on top. It is covered in a yellow buttercream and fondant bananas with a fondant monkey. Everything is edible except for the skewer holding the monkey in place.

I’m linking to the following…

The DIY Show Off The Girl Creative Making Get Your Craft On Tuesday Tip Junkie handmade projectsMake it Yours @ My Backyard Eden Transformation Thursdaygiveaways PhotobucketBubbly NatureFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

34 thoughts on “Monkey Baby Shower

  1. That cake is abdorable. I’ve done a monkey b-day party these before and had never thought to to bananas all over the cake. I’ve always done monkey face cupcakes.

    Your nephew is precious too! 🙂

    Sharing this with my Facebook readers.

  2. Your Nephew is beautiful!! the Cake is great!! Caking is one of my hobbies. I am doing a monkey baby shower in May. Hopefully mine will be as cute.

  3. Oh my gosh! That is super cute! I’m throwing my sis a baby shower but I’m not sure I have the talent to do that! I am your newest follower. Would love if it you checked out my blog. alottalovely.blogspot.com And p.s. how did you make all your linky’s so small at the bottom of your post? I wanna do that!

    • There really isn’t a secret! I used a 6″ round and half ball stacked and carved them slightly to look more like a “pile”. Sorry that sounds bad! I frosted it in a yellow buttercream and then colored the fondant the same yellow. Then I took a ball of fondant – probably around the size of a golf ball and rolled it out in a log. Then I cut off one inch sections and thinned down the ends and curved them slightly. I took groups of 2 and three bananas and stuck them together and pushed them lightly into the cake. I was a little worried about them falling off because they traveled on quite rough highways for about 45 miles, but it made it in one piece. After all the bananas were on – at least 2 hours of time! – I took a food safe paintbrush and brown food coloring slightly diluted and painted the ends and little lines on the sides to give the bananas more dimension. I did leave the head of the monkey and the banana that the monkey is holding off of the cake until I got there – just to make sure it didn’t topple and break! There is a skewer going through the center of the cake that is also through the body of the monkey and the bottom part of the head. This made it really easy to just pop on the monkey’s head when we got there. I hope this helps!

  4. Pingback: Warbling Wednesday - Singing With Birds

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Hits - Renee's Soiree

Leave a Reply

