Knock Off Purse Organizer and Giant Cupcake!

Our school held an annual fundraiser on Friday night. Each school family is required to donate 2 items to be auctioned off. This is along with the list of businesses that each family contacts for donations. Usually there is A LOT of stuff. It is always hard to know what to bring. Some things you wouldn’t think would bring much go outrageously high and others, that are worth more, bring what they are worth and nothing more.

Each classroom also does a themed basket which is then auctioned off. Things like a camping basket, a Lego basket, Rainy Day craft basket, Board games, etc. etc. My oldest son’s class did a farming basket – very appropriate because we live in a farming community and we’re farmers! My husband and I made fence, an open shed and a feed bunk.

I usually try to make a shaped cake of some sort. This year – in honor of one of the teacher’s birthday, I made a large cupcake. It was 6” around and about 12” tall with the candle on top.

007

It did really well, and the teacher was very appreciative.

The other thing I made was a last minute addition after the T-ring I let over rise did a nosedive!

So, Friday afternoon, I started on a knock off version of the PortaPockets purse organizer. And because I had to get it done and I had so little time, LOTS of things went wrong!

My craft room looks like a tornado hit after all the rushing around, so looks like that will be one of the things on my list of things to do!

This is how it turned out – not too bad for just winging it at the last minute. If I had to do it again, I would probably change a few things, but all in all, acceptable.

001

003

I hope to make another one for myself and possible put it on the list of things to give as teacher gifts next Christmas. Of course, I will need to actually write down the steps so that I can duplicate it next year!

I’m linking to the following…

PhotobucketFunky Junk's Saturday Nite Special

 

 

7 thoughts on “Knock Off Purse Organizer and Giant Cupcake!

  1. Pingback: 25 Easy To Make DIY Purse Organizers - Guru Koala

  2. Pingback: 25 Easy To Make DIY Purse Organizers - Guru Koala

Leave a Reply

